Interviews with artist Keith Rocco

Click

Click this link to read excerpts from interviews with renowned military artist Keith Rocco that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

 

Click this link to read about Keith’s Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army, the most accurate collection ever published of images of the French Army at Waterloo, now on Kickstarter.

Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army-The Art of Keith Rocco

 

“His painterly and fluid style and exhaustive research of his subject has earned Rocco acclaim as one of the country’s most sought after narrative artists.”
—Imagine Art Gallery


The French Army of the Hundred Days

On his return from the island of Elba in early 1815 Napoleon had to resurrect an army that had been greatly reduced during his exile from France. It was his last campaign.

For more than two decades historian, researcher, and author Paul Lindsay Dawson delved into the archives of the French army, translating reams of original documents and reports related to the rebuilding of Napoleon’s Imperial Army in 1815.

This book visually represents the results of that research, and describes the many variations of French uniforms hastily pressed into service by the harried quartermasters as they rushed to rebuild and refit an army that would end its life at Waterloo.


The most accurate collection of images of the French Army as it appeared at Waterloo


  • 64 original paintings portraying many of the French Army units at Waterloo
  • Over a decade of research and artistic rendering by Keith Rocco went into producing the paintings in this book
  • 150+ photographs of historical artifacts from the holdings of three museums and seven private collections
  • Foreword by David Markham, President, International Napoleonic Society

“I have always prided myself on telling the story of the common soldier, the often anonymous men who found themselves in extraordinary circumstances.”—Keith Rocco

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

What You Get In
WATERLOO: NAPOLEON’S LAST ARMY

  • 176 oversize-format 9 3/8” by 13 1/2” large pages
  • 128 pages featuring 64 Keith Rocco soldier paintings – 32 Imperial Guard and 32 Line units
  • Full color throughout
  • Fine high-grade, art quality paper
  • Facing pages feature descriptive text relating to the subject of the painting along with captioned photos of rare artifacts depicted within the artwork
  • An added plus: 28 more pages dedicated solely to beautifully photographed and captioned artifact photos
  • Illustrated Uniform Glossary in French and English
  • Index of units and officers that are portrayed in the book’s paintings
  • 4 large horizontal battle paintings on 2-page chapter title spreads, including:
  • Plancenoit – Guard Infantry & Artillery chapter. A NEVER-BEFORE-PUBLISHED PAINTING OF THE IMPERIAL GUARD FIGHTING IN THE CEMETERY! The artist created this painting especially for this book.
  • Empress Dragoons – Guard Cavalry chapter.
  • The Great Gate of Hougoumont – Line Infantry & Artillery chapter.
  • Quatre Bras – Line Cavalry chapter.


Click here to order the book

 


About the Artist

Artist Keith Rocco has created paintings for the Pentagon, museums in both the U.S. and Europe, the U.S. Army War College, and numerous National Park Service sites. He has been painting professionally for over 35 years specializing in military subjects.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

“One of today’s foremost painters of military images.”
—NapoleonicHistoricalSociety.org

“(An) artist in the tradition of Remington and Detaille”
—Uniformes magazine

“When Keith Rocco prepares to create a historical painting he does extensive research on the subject and time period . . . he researches information on individuals from their memoirs, letters and biographies. From there he creates a story of what happened.”—From the student handout in a lesson plan created by Baltimore Public Television for teachers to use in having students analyze Keith Rocco’s work

Read excerpts from interviews with Keith that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

About Paul Lindsay Dawson

Paul Lindsay Dawson. Click to enlarge.

Author Paul Lindsay Dawson is a field archaeologist and professional historian specializing in the army of Napoleon I. He has written more than 35 books on Napoleonic subjects.


Cachets Commemorate World War One

Shown above are veterans USMC MajGen Mike Myatt (left), San Francisco Postmaster General Abraham Cooper, and SF Fleet Week board director Ed Flowers ©️ San Francisco Chronicle

.

By Dana Lombardy. Help the ongoing educational efforts of the San Francisco War Memorial Veterans Building by purchasing the 100th anniversary collectible cachets (envelopes) with the new World War One “Turning the Tide” Forever postage stamp.

Each affordably priced cachet is printed on acid-free paper and has a unique 1918 theme and story about the role each group played in helping to win this catastrophic war. Eight different cachets feature:

  • U.S. Army
  • U.S. Marine Corps
  • U.S. Navy and Coast Guard
  • U.S. Air Service
  • U.S. Women
  • African Americans
  • U.S. Animals
  • San Francisco War Memorial Veterans Building dedicated to all who served in World War One.

Buy an individual cachet or all 8

Prices include shipping to a U.S. address. Contact us for shipping outside the U.S.A.

For collectors, history enthusiasts, and supporters of our military.

Thank you for helping us preserve this history and remember the service of these brave Americans.

 

Cachet Set Cachet Set of 8 + Stamp + Cancellation $25.00 Click the picture to view close ups of each cachet and BUY one or more sets with stamps and cancellations. Price includes heavy duty shipping carton and postage to a USA address.
display Acrylic Display Stand $12.00 Display your cachets with a 7-inch by 5-inch acrylic stand that shows one cachet but will hold all 8 cachets—simply rotate the cachet that is face out to keep the display fresh. Click the picture to BUY one or more display stands. Price includes heavy duty shipping carton and postage to a USA address.

Deluxe 38-inch long by 23-inch tall framed set shows all 8 cachets, plus (centered) the text on the back of all 8 cachets. $380 includes: custom mat framing, extra packing, insurance, and shipping via UPS ground to a USA address.

Click the picture to BUY a custom framed display.

To Buy the Cachet Envelopes Individually, Click Here.

These cachets are a project of the World War I Armistice Centennial Commemoration Committee to observe the 100th anniversary of the signing of the WWI Armistice, November 11, 1918 ending The Great War. The Committee is chaired by Maj. Gen. J. Michael Myatt, USMC (Ret.), and Judge Quentin L. Kopp (Ret.), president of the Korean War Memorial Foundation. The Committee was formed by community members with support from the War Memorial Board of Trustees to organize exhibits and activities to commemorate the Armistice Centennial. San Francisco’s projects and exhibits were selected by the U.S. World War One Centennial Commission as one of its official 100 American Cities 100 Memorials.