Interviews with artist Keith Rocco

Click

Click this link to read excerpts from interviews with renowned military artist Keith Rocco that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

 

Click this link to read about Keith’s Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army, the most accurate collection ever published of images of the French Army at Waterloo, now on Kickstarter.

Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army-The Art of Keith Rocco

 

“His painterly and fluid style and exhaustive research of his subject has earned Rocco acclaim as one of the country’s most sought after narrative artists.”
—Imagine Art Gallery


The French Army of the Hundred Days

On his return from the island of Elba in early 1815 Napoleon had to resurrect an army that had been greatly reduced during his exile from France. It was his last campaign.

For more than two decades historian, researcher, and author Paul Lindsay Dawson delved into the archives of the French army, translating reams of original documents and reports related to the rebuilding of Napoleon’s Imperial Army in 1815.

This book visually represents the results of that research, and describes the many variations of French uniforms hastily pressed into service by the harried quartermasters as they rushed to rebuild and refit an army that would end its life at Waterloo.


The most accurate collection of images of the French Army as it appeared at Waterloo


  • 64 original paintings portraying many of the French Army units at Waterloo
  • Over a decade of research and artistic rendering by Keith Rocco went into producing the paintings in this book
  • 150+ photographs of historical artifacts from the holdings of three museums and seven private collections
  • Foreword by David Markham, President, International Napoleonic Society

“I have always prided myself on telling the story of the common soldier, the often anonymous men who found themselves in extraordinary circumstances.”—Keith Rocco

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

What You Get In
WATERLOO: NAPOLEON’S LAST ARMY

  • 176 oversize-format 9 3/8” by 13 1/2” large pages
  • 128 pages featuring 64 Keith Rocco soldier paintings – 32 Imperial Guard and 32 Line units
  • Full color throughout
  • Fine high-grade, art quality paper
  • Facing pages feature descriptive text relating to the subject of the painting along with captioned photos of rare artifacts depicted within the artwork
  • An added plus: 28 more pages dedicated solely to beautifully photographed and captioned artifact photos
  • Illustrated Uniform Glossary in French and English
  • Index of units and officers that are portrayed in the book’s paintings
  • 4 large horizontal battle paintings on 2-page chapter title spreads, including:
  • Plancenoit – Guard Infantry & Artillery chapter. A NEVER-BEFORE-PUBLISHED PAINTING OF THE IMPERIAL GUARD FIGHTING IN THE CEMETERY! The artist created this painting especially for this book.
  • Empress Dragoons – Guard Cavalry chapter.
  • The Great Gate of Hougoumont – Line Infantry & Artillery chapter.
  • Quatre Bras – Line Cavalry chapter.


Your choice of two versions!

The Old Guard edition will be bound like this earlier Keith Rocco work. Click to enlarge.

Grenadier

Standard hard cover, foil lettering, Smyth sewn binding, dust jacket. $99.00

Old Guard

Luxury edition with leather binding (no dust jacket), raised hubs on spine, gold leaf embossing, gold page edge, and book mark ribbon, plus book plate signed by Keith Rocco $199.00

Visit Kickstarter page for pledge discounts.

I’ve got to have this!
Click here to join the Kickstarter

Can I order the book without using Kickstarter?
YES, but discounts will be smaller than those on Kickstarter. Credit cards will be charged in July/August when the book is ready to ship from the printer. Click here to visit Kickstarter Page.

I’m not ready to order yetkeep visiting our Kickstarter page for updated information.


About the Artist

Artist Keith Rocco has created paintings for the Pentagon, museums in both the U.S. and Europe, the U.S. Army War College, and numerous National Park Service sites. He has been painting professionally for over 35 years specializing in military subjects.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

“One of today’s foremost painters of military images.”
—NapoleonicHistoricalSociety.org

“(An) artist in the tradition of Remington and Detaille”
—Uniformes magazine

“When Keith Rocco prepares to create a historical painting he does extensive research on the subject and time period . . . he researches information on individuals from their memoirs, letters and biographies. From there he creates a story of what happened.”—From the student handout in a lesson plan created by Baltimore Public Television for teachers to use in having students analyze Keith Rocco’s work

Read excerpts from interviews with Keith that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

About Paul Lindsay Dawson

Paul Lindsay Dawson. Click to enlarge.

Author Paul Lindsay Dawson is a field archaeologist and professional historian specializing in the army of Napoleon I. He has written more than 35 books on Napoleonic subjects.


Don’t miss this opportunity to own nearly 70 reproductions of this amazing artist’s paintings!

Click here to receive notification about the Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army Kickstarter, pledge discounts and pre-order rewards!

I prefer to pre-order and pay for the book when it is ready to ship from the printer. I realize discounts will be smaller than on Kickstarter.
Credit cards will be charged in July/August when the book is ready to ship from the printer.

  • I prefer to order after the book is back from the printer. I realize there will be no discounts. Click here to receive email updates.

Waterloo Commemorative Items

Dana Lombardy and John Redmann, using the splendid portraits created by game Industry Hall of Fame graphic artist Rodger MacGowan, designed the following Waterloo commemorative bookmark and coasters. Available for purchase from our Shop.

Battle of Waterloo Bookmark

$3.00 (includes shipping)

Bookmark front

Bookmark back

Battle of Waterloo 4-Coaster Set

$12.00 / set (includes shipping)
One coaster each: all three generals, Napoleon, Wellington, and Blücher