Interviews with artist Keith Rocco

Click

Click this link to read excerpts from interviews with renowned military artist Keith Rocco that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

 

Click this link to read about Keith’s Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army, the most accurate collection ever published of images of the French Army at Waterloo, now on Kickstarter.

Waterloo: Napoleon’s Last Army-The Art of Keith Rocco

 

“His painterly and fluid style and exhaustive research of his subject has earned Rocco acclaim as one of the country’s most sought after narrative artists.”
—Imagine Art Gallery


The French Army of the Hundred Days

On his return from the island of Elba in early 1815 Napoleon had to resurrect an army that had been greatly reduced during his exile from France. It was his last campaign.

For more than two decades historian, researcher, and author Paul Lindsay Dawson delved into the archives of the French army, translating reams of original documents and reports related to the rebuilding of Napoleon’s Imperial Army in 1815.

This book visually represents the results of that research, and describes the many variations of French uniforms hastily pressed into service by the harried quartermasters as they rushed to rebuild and refit an army that would end its life at Waterloo.


The most accurate collection of images of the French Army as it appeared at Waterloo


  • 64 original paintings portraying many of the French Army units at Waterloo
  • Over a decade of research and artistic rendering by Keith Rocco went into producing the paintings in this book
  • 150+ photographs of historical artifacts from the holdings of three museums and seven private collections
  • Foreword by David Markham, President, International Napoleonic Society

“I have always prided myself on telling the story of the common soldier, the often anonymous men who found themselves in extraordinary circumstances.”—Keith Rocco

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

Features a new painting of the Guard fighting in the cemetery at Placenoit. Click to enlarge.

What You Get In
WATERLOO: NAPOLEON’S LAST ARMY

  • 176 oversize-format 9 3/8” by 13 1/2” large pages
  • 128 pages featuring 64 Keith Rocco soldier paintings – 32 Imperial Guard and 32 Line units
  • Full color throughout
  • Fine high-grade, art quality paper
  • Facing pages feature descriptive text relating to the subject of the painting along with captioned photos of rare artifacts depicted within the artwork
  • An added plus: 28 more pages dedicated solely to beautifully photographed and captioned artifact photos
  • Illustrated Uniform Glossary in French and English
  • Index of units and officers that are portrayed in the book’s paintings
  • 4 large horizontal battle paintings on 2-page chapter title spreads, including:
  • Plancenoit – Guard Infantry & Artillery chapter. A NEVER-BEFORE-PUBLISHED PAINTING OF THE IMPERIAL GUARD FIGHTING IN THE CEMETERY! The artist created this painting especially for this book.
  • Empress Dragoons – Guard Cavalry chapter.
  • The Great Gate of Hougoumont – Line Infantry & Artillery chapter.
  • Quatre Bras – Line Cavalry chapter.


Click here to order the book

 


About the Artist

Artist Keith Rocco has created paintings for the Pentagon, museums in both the U.S. and Europe, the U.S. Army War College, and numerous National Park Service sites. He has been painting professionally for over 35 years specializing in military subjects.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

Keith Rocco at work. Click to enlarge.

“One of today’s foremost painters of military images.”
—NapoleonicHistoricalSociety.org

“(An) artist in the tradition of Remington and Detaille”
—Uniformes magazine

“When Keith Rocco prepares to create a historical painting he does extensive research on the subject and time period . . . he researches information on individuals from their memoirs, letters and biographies. From there he creates a story of what happened.”—From the student handout in a lesson plan created by Baltimore Public Television for teachers to use in having students analyze Keith Rocco’s work

Read excerpts from interviews with Keith that appeared in the European magazines Bellumartis and Amis Club.

About Paul Lindsay Dawson

Paul Lindsay Dawson. Click to enlarge.

Author Paul Lindsay Dawson is a field archaeologist and professional historian specializing in the army of Napoleon I. He has written more than 35 books on Napoleonic subjects.


The Colors of Napoleon’s Army 1807-1815 painting guide

The Colors of Napoleon’s Army 1807-1815

The goal of this four-page painting guide was to authenticate the color Imperial Blue used on all French infantry and artillery uniforms. Thanks to the assistance of the Musée de l’Emperi in Salon-de-Provence, France, and private collector Jean Brunon, we had the opportunity of handling First Empire uniforms. These were checked against cloth samples in other museums and institutions to provide cross-references.

We do not claim that the colors presented are the only “true” colors worn by Napoleon’s soldiers. However, we made a concerted effort to obtain or examine the best existing samples of First Empire uniforms and nearly all of our visual color matches were made using interior surfaces of garments, behind linings, where colors were most likely to remain consistent over the past 200 years.

The printer used actual samples of cloth to match the colors presented in this painting guide.

The Colors of Napoleon’s Army 1807-1815 painting guide is available for purchase in our Shop.

Waterloo Commemorative Items

Dana Lombardy and John Redmann, using the splendid portraits created by game Industry Hall of Fame graphic artist Rodger MacGowan, designed the following Waterloo commemorative bookmark and coasters. Available for purchase from our Shop.

Battle of Waterloo Bookmark

$3.00 (includes shipping)

Bookmark front

Bookmark back

Battle of Waterloo 4-Coaster Set

$12.00 / set (includes shipping)
One coaster each: all three generals, Napoleon, Wellington, and Blücher

Napoleon magazine – Napoleon Journal

Why two names?

Why Napoleon magazine and Napoleon Journal? It’s more than a case of tomAtotomAHto.

Napoleon: His Life, His Wars, His World magazine evolved from a club-like ’zine called Empires, Eagles and Lions started by Jean Lochet in 1976. In 1994 Dana Lombardy took over as publisher, and two years later the name changed to Napoleon: His Life, His Wars, His World magazine as part of a complete layout overhaul. Following additional upgrades (more pages, perfect binding) the name changed again to Napoleon Journal: International Journal of the French Revolution and Age of Napoleon. Click on the link to read the Backstory on Napoleon Journal.

A sample article – Hougoumont

Own all 17 issues as searchable PDFs on a DVD in a protective sleeve!

Available from our Shop or at our affiliate site NapoleonJournal.com
for just $36 (USA) or $42 (international)

  • Over 1,200 pages of information on Napoleon, his wars, and his world, enhanced by clear, colorful, easy-to-understand graphics
  • Includes index to issues 1–12

To see all 17 issues’ covers plus table of contents and sample pages from each, visit LOMBARDY STUDIOS’s affiliate site NapoleonJournal.com, where you can also read a brief biography, Why Napoleon?

A limited number of printed copies of these back issues are still available. Contact dana.lombardy@gmail.com for the current list and prices.